Show of Support for Resources at UBCM

Victoria, BC – Northeast BC Resource Municipalities Coalition Mayors Bill Streeper (Northern Rockies Regional Municipality), Lori Ackerman (Fort St. John) and Rob Fraser (Taylor) stood with over 20 other BC resource municipalities mayors in front of the BC Legislature today in support of responsible resource development and greater access to markets.

Councilors from Richmond and Coquitlam also joined the gathering. A crowd of about 125 industry and labour leaders, BC government ministers, media and others listened to Mayor Ackerman and Mayor Peter Milobar (Kamloops). They thanked the Federal Government for its decision to allow the Pacific Northwest LNG project to proceed with conditions and stressed the need for greater access to markets for BC’s abundant natural resources. Both mayors agreed a majority of British Colombians support responsible resource development but are often hesitant to express their support.

Northeast BC Resource Municipalities Coalition Executive Director, Colin Griffith said, “It’s time for resource communities and the majority of British Colombians who support resource development to make their voices heard as the Province of BC and the Federal Government continue to review several proposed major projects.” Griffith further stated, “These projects would diversify the BC economy and create thousands of new jobs and economic prosperity.”

The Northeast BC Resource Municipalities Coalition mission is to protect and enhance existing resource municipalities and rural communities of Northeastern BC. The Coalition supports the important role that the resource municipalities and rural communities play in supporting existing and future resource development.

Members of the Northeast BC Resource Municipalities Coalition include the City of Fort St. John, District of Taylor, Northern Rockies Regional Municipality, Chamber of Commerce in Dawson Creek, Fort St. John, Fort Nelson and Chetwynd, the Northern BC Truckers Association and Energy Services BC. Senator Richard Neufeld is also an honorary member.